I’m young, I’m a woman, I’m a manager and YES, I am trustworthy!

I probably feel inspired today, (and by the way, it’s raining cats and dogs and it’s the perfect night to write) so I need to send this message to the business world out there.

Many times in the last years I felt as I was in a bubble, and I’m pretty sure that wasn’t just my perception. There is this “invisible glass bubble”, similar in a way to the famous crystal ceiling that most women encounter in their professional path, that generally isolates women in business environments.

Most men readers will probably not understand this, and I don’t blame them, it’s just so hard to understand thing we never experienced.

Well, this is the story. In the business world, mor than in any other environment, women have to struggle 10 times more than a man to be perceived as serious professionals. And most of the times hard work just won’t be enough if not associated to a “men attitude”. Which means: austerity, figures-figures-figures and that “I’m a successful businessman too busy to care about anything else but me” . Nothing personal against figures, of course, I love figures! But just when they’re accompanied by a thorough and inspired analysis!

I was recently discussing this with a female super manager friend of mine, and we both agreed that businesswomen (can you say that?) do not have role models. The only role models they have are men. And incorporating those attitudes into your management style is very dangerous. It won’t just fit. It’s against your nature, why should I be forced to move away from my nature?

Why can’t I just be me? Even if I’m a professional, even if it’s a world run by men, why can’t I just be me and still be appreciated for my ideas, my talents, my analytical skills, my creativity, my passions and YES, my instinct? Is instinct really that bad?

It actually seems it helped evolution …  but what do I know, I’m just a woman 😉

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

Mummy Says...

A UK Parenting and Lifestyle blog

theextraordinarysimplelife

Simplicity, Good Design & Airstream Weekend Adventures

Warren M Tang

'In Other Words' is a language blog

Full Of Roses Inspirationals

Christian inspirational photography and poetry

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Customer Service Central

The best customer service experiences ever!

MEDIA E POTERE

Racconto storie. Parlo di startup. Lavoro. Giornalismo. Marketing. E di ciò che mi passa per la testa.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

content for clicks

search engine optimised web copywriting

ecommercerockstars

Smile! You’re about to be a Rockstar

carebyme

care by me We want to create a contemporary design based on everyday life, and with room for joy and fun.

Sincerely, Slapdash

Random thoughts from the heart

Sam's World

Business, Marketing, Channel, Leadership & Sales & Sales Management Sam's Way

Leadership Freak

Empowering Leaders 300 Words at a Time

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

